church history, i will never forget you…oops.

i only recently received my official seminary diploma in the mail, even though i graduated a year ago.  while i completely enjoyed learning everything i learned, one question always remains in my head when i think of seminary.  what am i suppose do with all those hours of sitting in church history class?

not my actual diploma. this is a web diploma. but mine looks like this and cost me $25,000 more.

not my actual diploma. this is a free web diploma. but mine looks like this and cost me $25,000 more.

and the bigger question:  what are the chances that the people group in Asia that i serve amongst are going to ask me a question about Origen?  or Ecumenical Councils?  Nestorian doctrine?  (i write these words, and even though i wrote papers on each of those things, i already can’t remember what many of them mean or even the significance behind them, only that they were important to shaping how Christianity is today.  yeahh…and to be honest, i can’t even remember why they were important.  just that they were.  there ya go).

i’m sure if i were constantly reviewing my notes, i’d be able to remember things, but to be honest, i just haven’t been good at history, period.  never been.  not to mention church history was sooo much information that something was bound to be squished out of my limited-space brain.  but no seriously, i have this lingering question in my mind, wondering when i will ever hear someone from the people group i’m serving, ask me a question regarding one of those things.  it’s as if Frodo said to me:

naww...wait, really? and then what happened after the battle of san jacinto? you MUST tell me more about texas history, it's SO applicable to my journey to mordor!

naww...wait, really? and then what happened after the battle of birch coulee? you MUST tell me more about minnesota history.

meaning: it ain’t gonna happen.  ever.  which makes me a bit sad, considering all the time that went into sitting in class, studying for essay tests and writing papers at the time.  (and just so you know, i really did enjoy church history class; i’m not good at remembering history, but i love hearing stories).

though really, i’m not sure what i’m too sad about since i can’t really remember much other than  the Nicene creed (important and therefore the only thing i remember!) and words i thought were funny to say like “Papacy” and “Tertullian.”  but there is the hope – that possibly one day, someone might ask me who Origen was.  that would kind of make me feel like i’m putting all those hours to good use.  just once will be fine.

and then i could say, “that is a great question.  let me go read my notes and get back to you because my brain could only contain so much information.”

"alamo.  what a fun word to say even though it has nothing to do with me!"

"mankato. what a fun word to say even though it has nothing to do with me!"

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “church history, i will never forget you…oops.

  1. I really liked your blog post.Thanks Again. Great.

  2. Enjoyed every bit of your blog.Really looking forward to read more. Great.

Leave a Reply

